About ChloroFilms

ChloroFilms is a nonprofit project started by Dr. Daniel Cosgrove at Penn State University with initial grant support from the Education Foundation of the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB). Additional support comes from the Botanical Society of America, ", and Penn State Institutes for Energy and the Environment, and the Canadian Botanical Association. Our objective is to promote the creation of fresh, attention-getting and informative video content about plant life and to make the best of these videos easy to find from a single website. This is intended to serve the general public and educators at all levels.  We hope this video competition and website will stimulate more creative and innovative ways to present and learn about plant biology. The name "ChloroFilms" was suggested by Penn State student Ilya Udler.

The ChloroFilms Advisory Board includes:
    Dr. Sally Assmann, Penn State University
    Dr. Katie George, University of Montana
    Dr. Larry Griffing, Texas A&M University
    Ms. Beth Judy, producer of "The Plant Detective", Montana Public Radio
    Dr. Karl Niklas, Cornell University
    Dr. Edgar Spalding, University of Wisconsin

List of past judges:   Noel Michele Holbrook (Harvard University), Young Cho (Eastern New Mexico University), Sally Assmann (Penn State University), Anne Binninger (Missoula, MT), Sondra Lazarowitz (Cornell University), David Stern (Cornell University), Cindy Graham (University of Calgary), Stephen Saupe (College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University), Claude dePamphilis (Penn State University), Britta Bloedorn (Missoula, MT), Arunika Gunawardena (Dalhousie University), Dawn Luthe (Penn State University), Burkhard Schulz (Purdue University), David P Puthoff (Frostburg University), Maralyn Renner (Humboldt Redwood Company), Barbara Bliss (Penn State University), Aurora Levesley (University of Leeds, UK), Mark Guiltinan (Penn State University), Gregory Richter (Penn State University, Joy Marburger (National Park Service), Mark Coykendall (College of Lake Country, Illinois), Celia Knight (University of Leeds, UK), Larry Griffing (Texas A&M University), Elizabeth Van Volkenburg (University of Washington), Katie George (Montana State University), Judy Brusslan (Cal ifornia State University Long Beach), Peter Minorsky (Plant Cell, ASPB), María L. Valderrama-Cháirez (CUCBA, Universidad de Guadalajara)